What else will I be using?

I’ve already detailed the hardware that I’m using, so I thought I’d take a moment to list out the major applications that I’ll be working with on the MacBook:

  • Office 365
    • This is already installed and is currently my ‘go-to’ suite.  I’ll take a look at iWorks at some point in the future, but for the timebeing I’m sticking with the applications I know.
  • OneDrive
    • As previously mentioned, this service was pretty much the bedrock of the whole migration for me – my data flowed down flawlessly and it’s staying in sync with my desktop without issue.
  • Adobe CC Photography subscription
    • I’ve previously mentioned that I use the Adobe Creative Cloud Photography plan, and, now I’ve migrated my catalogue, it’s working flawlessly for me.
  • Skype
    • My parents are on Windows (and even Windows Mobile!) so I still need a cross-platform communication program, although with other iDevice users I tend to stick with FaceTime.
  • Duet Display
    • This fantastic app allows you to use an iDevice (generally an iPad is recommended) as a second screen for your laptop – it works brilliantly and provides that extra realestate when you’re out and about and need to multi-task easily (duetdisplay.com)

As well as these existing apps and services, I’ll also be investigating:

No doubt I’ll find other tools and utilities as I go along – and if you have any recommendations I’d love to hear them in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

